Speech Recognition Poetry

What happens when you accidentally leave your speech recognition system running while having a conversation with someone? Well, it keeps on working, doing the best it can. And sometimes, the results are almost poetic.

Here is a clip from a moment ago. My wife was having some problems entering addresses into a Microsoft Word table, in preparation of printing Christmas card address labels via mail merge. She just came into my office for some help while I was dictating an e-mail. I forgot to turn off Dragon NaturallySpeaking, and here is what I found in my e-mail when I looked back at my computer:

Guess who took the step has 2 arrows to swallow okay you want one template size that could then it doesn’t matter these things rap’s from these small shoot. I very get by the Academy for a small and a test is a success okay okay and yes I’m just so I can do now and really in some ways rather do well to listen to a spreadsheet probably thought I’d be gagging daily is a really simple social work and other but we also allow North

Gibberish? Yet, it was based upon coherent sentences that I had spoken. Honestly!

About davidsocha

In autumn 2010 after spending 19 years working in a variety of software organizations as a programmer, architect, manager, teacher, ScrumMaster, product designer, change agent, and agile coach, I finally listened to what everyone had been telling me I should be doing and joined the University of Washington Bothell as an Assistant Professor in Computing & Software Systems. My interests are how to create and maintain great teams, particularly those in software development organizations. I am most interested in distinctions that dramatically increase the effectiveness of teams, such as systems thinking, design thinking, biomimicry, and human centered design. I am a pragmatist, a collaborator, and an optimist.
This entry was posted in Design, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Speech Recognition Poetry

  1. Valentin Razmov says:

    I laughed through tears while reading this “transcription”. Thanks for the refreshing post, David!

Leave a Reply

